RSS

Beautiful Blessings!

09 Jan

Recently after winter break, the local schools cancelled school for 3 more days because of the huge amount of snow and the extreme cold temperatures. On Facebook I saw many comments and complaints that the moms were not sure what to do with the kids when they had been planning on having them back in school. Moms were generally feeling like it was a bad thing to have their kids home for extra days. I understand if parents are both working and finding care on top of shoveling out of the huge snow and going to work; that can put a damper in the plans. But I am referring to the moms who are stay at home moms and do not want to be home with the kids all day. I also want to add, that not all moms that I know said this, some were so grateful to have the extra time with their kids.
But for the most part it seemed like moms were not grateful for this new turn of events.

As a homeschooler, I love being home with my kids, training, teaching, cleaning, cooking, playing, reading, etc. But there are days when I see the yellow school bus drive down the street and drool. Ok, I really do not drool, but there are hard days homeschooling. But to be honest, it was harder for me the first few years of mothering. I really had no idea what I was doing. It got really hard for me when I had a 2-year-old and an infant, who both needed me a lot. Now I have bigger helpers (my oldest is almost 9, then 6, 3, and 1). I have more work to do, but I also have more systems in place to help make sure that the most important things get done.

I used to buy into the lie that children were not really the blessings that God says that they are. Psalm 127:3: Behold, children are a heritage of the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.
I know that the word of God is truth, so why did I use to listen to worldly advice, the culture, or buy into any of it? I am not entirely sure of the answer, but I think that since I was a new Christian, new mom, I just looked around and saw how other moms were living. I was always drawn to the moms who seemed to love this mothering role. I did not always love getting up the middle of the night, breaking up fights, having my children misbehave…etc. But as I was confronted on many times God was showing me that it was me that was wrong, not my children. I was selfish, it all boiled down to, I did not want to do something (get up in the night, change a diaper, stop cooking to discipline, etc). God has been showing me what a blessing children really are. I started this blog 4 years ago when we lost Eli. I promise, they are so worth all the hard work, sleepless nights, headaches, etc. I am doing God’s work. It is hard. It is tiring, but it forces me to confront my own selfishness and come out better for it. With His help. I cannot die to myself without reliance on Him. I go to Him daily. I need his hand to pick me up when the going gets tough.

I want to write a series about how children are the blessing that God says they are. I do not have all the answers (far from it). I am not super mom (far from that). I fall and make mistakes (often). I do not have it all together (hardly). But I know that what I say and do can either reflect that children are a blessing, or they are not. Either one or the other.

I hope you will come back and read what the next post will be about.

Blessings,
Tiffany

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Beautiful Blessings!

  1. Tamara

    January 9, 2014 at 11:43 am

    I am so glad you wrote this. I was frustrated with the amount of complaining going on about the snow days. I confess, moments yesterday I had to confront my own selfish desires of quiet to deal with disobedience.
    So thankful for The Lord who continues to show me that His ways are best.

     
    • rememberingeli

      January 10, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      Thanks Tamara! I like to write blogs that I can go back and read so I can be reminded of my many blessings!

       

Leave a Reply

 
